Reading Time: 4 minutes

The popular Olive Garden complementary breadsticks are offered upon arrival but vegetarians care about the recipes to avoid consuming meals containing animal products. Vegetarians won’t stop asking “Are Olive Garden breadsticks Vegan? Read on to know more about this Breadstick.

Are Olive Garden breadsticks vegan

Are Olive Garden Breadsticks Vegan?

This is a conscious notice to Vegetarians out there who have rejected the popular Olive Garden Breadstick for fear of having animal products to eat it. It’s safe for them and void of any animal meats therefore, it is vegan.

The popular breadsticks at the Olive Garden are purely vegan. It was listed on the restaurant’s website as vegan-friendly.

To make it more exciting, the marinara sauce you enjoy dipping your breadsticks in is vegan. So you see you have every reason to enjoy your breadsticks without having to fear that they are against your diet.

Recipe for the Olive Garden Breadstick

Understanding the recipes used in making the Olive Garden breadstick will settle the air about the questions asked by the vegetarians who visit the Italian-American restaurant. The bread is 100% vegan.

There are no eggs, no source of cheese rennet, no diary. The bread is fluffy and made of carby goodness purely meant for your tastebuds. And for those who are not vegan, you can still enjoy this delicious bread.

Recipe for the Dough

1. One and a half cups of warm water

2. Two tablespoons sugar

3. Four one-quarter of cups all-purpose flour

4. Two tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

5. A tablespoon of active dry yeast

6. A tablespoon salt

For Garlic Butter Topping

1. Half cup of unsalted butter, melted

2. A teaspoon of garlic powder

3. Half teaspoon of dried parsley flakes. It’s optional though

4. Salt

How to Prepare the Dough

1. Dissolve sugar in warm water to make a solution. Then add the active dry yeast and leave it for about 5-10 minutes until it becomes frothy.

2. Mix flour and salt in another bowl. Make a well in the center and pour the yeast mixture and melted butter.

3. Mix up everything to form a dough. Knead the dough on a floured surface for about 8-10 minutes until it becomes smooth and elastic.

4. Place the dough in a lightly oiled bowl, cover it with a damp cloth, and let it rise in a warm place for about 1-1.5 hours or until it doubles in size.

5. Preheat your oven to 400°F (200°C). Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Mode the Breadsticks by punching down the risen dough and dividing it into 12 equal portions.

Roll each portion into a 9-inch long rope and place them on the prepared baking sheet.

6. Bake the breadsticks in the preheated oven for 12-15 minutes or until they are golden brown. Mix melted butter, garlic powder, and dried parsley flakes, and add salt to taste.

Brush them generously with the garlic butter mixture while they are still warm once it’s ready.

Do the Breadsticks at Olive Garden have Dairy?

Are Olive Garden Breadsticks Vegan

The breadsticks offered at the restaurant are dairy-free except where some dairy ingredients are added like cheese and milk. But most of them are dairy-free.

All of this information is listed on the restaurant website, like the ingredients used in making breadsticks, including enriched wheat flour, water yeast, canola, sugar, oil, spices, and salt.

So you can now see that the breadsticks do not contain any form of diary. Note that the Italian dressing at the restaurant does have milk, but they can offer olive oil and vinegar for your salad dressing if you want.

The exciting thing is that the restaurant has vegan substitutes for every meal. For instance, instead of using butter, the restaurant offers vegan margarine.

Olive Garden Meals that are Vegan

For the benefit of Vegetarians who might still want to know other meals to eat or avoid when visiting any Olive Garden restaurant, look through this list.

The meals listed here are foods for vegans since they don’t contain any animal product though recipes could change over time so they should always ask the waiter to know more while we will update the info when necessary.

1. Breadsticks

2. Minestrone Soup

3. Salad

4. Pasta

5. Sides like sautéed vegetables or steamed broccoli

Dynamic Energy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *